Eurovision 2014: By the Numbers

eurovision-2014-join-usWe’ve been here in the Press Centre for two days now, with the first rough rehearsals coming across our screen.  Before the Semifinals next week, let’s take a quick look at who we’ll all see on stage this year and how they got there!

Who’ll be performing?

  • Solo Male (8): Armenia, Belarus, Belgium, Denmark, Hungary, Montenegro, Norway, Switzerland
  • Solo Female (15): Albania, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, (FYR) Macedonia, Moldova, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom
  • Gender Illusionist (1): Austria
  • Duets (4): Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russia
  • Groups/Collaborations (9) : Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Malta

How were the songs chosen?

  • Internal Selections (11): Armenia, Austria, Georgia, Italy, (FYR) Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, San Marino, United Kingdom
  • National Final Winners (24): Albania, Belarus, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine
  • Internal Artist Selection, Public Song Choice (1): Israel
  • Public Artist Selection, Internal Song Choice (1): Azerbaijan

Songs changed/modified from original winner/announcement/release?:

  • Albania: Albanian language version, “Zemërimi i nje natë“, was translated into the English-language “One Night’s Anger”.
  • Belarus: Lyric changed from “Google Maps” to “all the maps” in order to comply with EBU regulations.
  • Denmark: Lyric changed from “f*cking cliché” to “another cliché” in order to comply with EBU regulations.
  • Iceland: The Icelandic “Enga fordóma” was translated into the all-English “No Prejudice”.
  • Malta: Various lyrics and arrangement changed.
  • Poland: The all-Polish “My Słowianie” has been revamped and turned into a bilingual version, called “My Słowianie – We Are Slavic” or “Slavic Girls”
  • Ukraine: Various lyrics and arrangement changed.

What language will the songs be performed in?

  • English (28): Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Lithuania, (FYR) Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom
  • No English (3): Italy, Montenegro, Portugal
  • Bilingual (4): Israel, Poland, Slovenia, Spain
  • Primarily in one language with a few phrases in another (2): France (primarily in French, with phrases in English and Spanish), Latvia (primarily in English, with a few phrases in Latvian)

How many are returning to Eurovision?

  • (FYR) Macedonia: Tamara Todevska (backing vocals) (2008)
  • Montenegro: Martina Majerle (backing vocals) (2009 as lead, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012 as backing)
  • Romania: Paula Seling and Ovi (2010)
  • Russia: Masha and Nastya Tolmachevy (JESC 2006)
  • San Marino: Valentina Monetta (2012, 2013)

How many had previously performed in a National Final (not counting their 2014 victory)?

How many had taken part in vocal talent shows (not including National Finals)?

  • Austria – “Starmania” (2007, 2nd place, as Tom Neuwirth), “Die große Chance” (2011, 6th place, as Conchita Wurst)
  • Azerbaijan – “The Voice of Ukraine” (currently participating)
  • Belgium – “Star Academy” and “The Voice Belgique” (2013, made it to Battle Rounds)
  • Denmark – “The X-Factor” (2008, 4th place)
  • Hungary – “Megasztár” (2011, 4th place)
  • Israel – “Kokhav Nolad” (2009, 3rd place)
  • Italy – “Popstars” (2003, winner) “Amici di Maria De Filippi” (2009, winner)
  • Lithuania – “Kelias į žvaigždes” (2005, 2nd place)
  • Malta (Richard Edwards) – “The X-Factor” (UK, made to jury house)
  • Poland (Cleo) – “The X-Factor” (2011)
  • San Marino – “Popstars” (2001)
  • Spain – “The X-Factor (UK, 2008, 5th place)
  • Ukraine – “The Voice of Ukraine” (2012, 4th place)

Who are the youngest artists this year?

  • Finland: Eero Keskinen (bass) – 18, Tuomo Alarinta (drums) – 18, Ossi Mäkelä – (guitars, synth) – 17.
  • Greece: RiskyKidd – 19
  • Russia: Masha & Nastya Tomlachevy – 17

Who wasn’t born in the country they’ll be representing?

  • Estonia – Tanja was born in Kaliningrad, Russia.
  • Germany – Lead singer Elżbieta Steinmetz was born in Ukraine.
  • Greece – RiskyKidd was born in London.
  • Hungary – András Kállay-Saunders was born in New York.
  • Latvia – Lead singer Jöran Steinhauer is from Bochum, Germany.

Posted on April 29, '14, in 2014, Special Comment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Robbert-Rotterdam

    In the statistics I miss Waylon(NL) having taken part in a former national final first, and being part of talent show in 2008.

  2. I hope you post your annual liked and disliked songs!

  1. Pingback: ESC2014 – A “Few” Weeks Later | Eurovision Obsession

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: